Contemporary

Just got back from a rather rainy and windswept Nottingham, having been into town for a free screening of 'Demon Seed' at the Contemporary - there's nothing like a bit of vintage seventies retro-futurism to brighten up an otherwise dull Tuesday evening. It was programmed, apparently, by the Turner Prize winning artist Mark Leckey, whose show, 'The Universal Addressability of Dumb Things', is on in the main gallery at the moment. I had a quick look at that last week and let's just say that 'curating' seems to be to Turner Prize winning artists what 'bunging a load of old tut together in a room' would be to the rest of us. Rather than an interesting and thought provoking exercise in juxtaposition, this is more like 'curatorship' in the same way that I 'curate' the top drawer of my desk...

Anyway, the Birkenstocks were definitely a bit previous. Mind you, I've still been insisting on going out in the day without a coat on, though that just makes me stubborn and cold! That said, I did manage to take the roof off our garage in the rain over the weekend (it was a matter of taking it down before it fell down, I'm afraid...)

Been listening to 'Unsecured' by Miles today - it's a, shall we say, relatively uncomplicated addendum to his recent album, 'Faint Hearted' - half an hour of nice rhythmic banging sounds split into four (I suppose it's a 12" or an EP in so far as these kind of things matter anymore.) I particularly like 'Infinite Jest' (the clue, I think is in the title - also included: 'Blatant Statement') - "TUNE!" as my son would say...

More (but different) good news on the musical front: Emma from Standard Fare has a new band! (Well, I was excited.) Plus things sound to be shaping up quite nicely - one to watch, indeed....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.