Sad discovery in the woods

My brother and his roommate just arrived for dinner so I will make this brief and comment later.

Arvin and I walked by the tree with the Pileated Woodpecker nest this afternoon and had a shock. The top half of the tree was gone, the part where the nest had been. It appeared to be cut off straight. I clambered over branches, trunks, ferns and whatever to get to the spot. There was no trail to go there. What I found was that the tree had blown down in the wind. It was broken into several pieces right at the holes the birds had made. I saw no sign of birds or eggs. How sad. I had been hoping to be able to photograph the babies when they hatched.

The photo is of the woods where we were walking. The sun had come out and it was a beautiful day. Press L for the large view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.