The 'Oranjemolen', Vlissingen

'Oranje' = 'Oranye' = The Orange Mill, referring to the royal House of Orange.
Vlissingen was a fortress during the war.  The extra shot will explain that.  The windmill is standing on the very high dike facing the sea.  The second extra shot will show you how much lower the residential area is.  The entire location is now called 'Uncle Beach'.  Close to the windmill is the entrance to a museum showing one of the submarine torpedoes used heavily by the Nazis to sink Allied ships, both military and commercial.

A beautiful day!  I finally got the blue sky I wanted.

It began with intense communication with the Viking.  We are loading and reloading our ammunition and firing our cannon before the Opposition can even take a rest.  Various prosecutors in MNL are rubbing their hands in anticipation.  Of a bribe?  Who needs to bribe if our side is presenting all the arguments and the other side is unresponsive?  But I should not celebrate too soon.

Another development today is in connection with my future agreements at work.  Not yet, not yet, but both bosses Harry and Johnny have had a talk and have agreed to leave the most crucial decision to me.  At least, this kind of a dilemma is every job applicant's dream.  Both need my services badly, but Harry, my current boss, has an urgent situation -- Guilford Guy will be going on paternity leave the whole month of March (his second baby) (and, yes, we have paternity leave here, not just maternity leave) and I will need to take over some of his classes.  On the other hand, Johnny is offering me a much longer contract, which might also be extended, depending on circumstances.  It's him that I'm meeting tomorrow.  I hope to be able to get more information for a more prudent and practical solution for all parties concerned.  To be honest, I never thought I would ever be in this kind of a position.  I hope I 'fix' things properly.

As I could not leave till all of the above had been taken care of, I had to wait till mid-afternoon, thankfully with enough time yet before sundown.  And then, while AW (who did a lot of cleaning while I was out) left for Tuesday evening live bridge, I returned to correction work, answering the occasional Teams message from Guilford Guy, who was also obviously burning the midnight oil.

A busy time... but thank you very much for passing by!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.