Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

My weekly grocery excursion

Lately I've been doing my grocery shopping after my Tuesday cello lesson. I'm finished by 6:30pm, the sun is still shining, and by this time of day - I am starving!

I often head over to Costco where I stock up on giant-sized sacks of dog and cat food or detergent or coffee beans, or half a cow. But, these days, the boys are often doing their own thing, foodwise, and Rich (who is plenty slim) has decided to watch his girlish figure, so today I went to Trader Joe's.

When we first moved up to Washington from the San Fran Bay Area in 1995, there wasn't a Trader Joe's anywhere nearby. It had always been one of my favorite haunts and I was missing it terribly. I recall looking up their website, and phoning them to inquire whether they had any plans to build a Trader Joe's in Bellingham, WA. At that time, they said no, but would keep it in mind.

So, you see, I like to believe that I played a critical, behind-the-scenes role in influencing the top dogs at Trader Joe's to open their new Bellingham store.

On today's shopping list: bulgogi, naan bread, ciabatta, pappardelle noodles, and hummus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.