Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Zoe and Leo popped over for a visit this morning. Leo is off school with a sore arm. Zoe has Wednesdays off. 

But we were planning to go to the ‘Siver Screen’ at Everyman cinema in town. Most cinemas do this, with cheaper seats for oldies and a free cuppa. Sometimes a biscuit too. But Everyman go one better - free coffees AND cake! And they are SO comfortable, and bring your goodies in to you. 

But the film, I checked, was almost three hours long. And with bussing there and back, this made it just too long for Archie to be on his own. But Abi came to the rescue. I was reluctant to ask, as Pip still is an invalid, and needs to be kept calm, though he and Archie generally just ignore each anyway. But I had to ask her. They were fine, though I think Archie was a bit too interested in Pip’s bandages at one point.

And so we had a bit of spare time before the film. I even went shopping. Well, JR had spotted a very cheap tee shirt in Zara, so I was tempted in and made a purchase (£7.99).

The film we saw, Tár, was excellent. Cate Blanchett was on screen just about the whole time. And I wasn’t bored, or moaned about it being too long. Although the first 6 or 8 minutes were taken up with the credits. Not the main ones (they came at the end as usual) but every Best Boy, Key Grip and Gaffer and every other wee job in a film crew is listed. Hundreds of ‘em. A bit pretentious, I thought.

JR walked right by the copies of ‘Spare’. She won’t let me get even a free ‘Audible’ copy. Though I couldn’t listen to Harold’s voice droning on and on about what a hard life he’s had…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.