Wednesday: Detour

I went up to Belize City today for a lunch with my international colleagues.  It was a slightly bizarre experience.  The international community is very small here and quite a few them only speak Spanish.  My Spanish is non-existent but, given that we’re in an English speaking country, I think that’s forgivable.    

So for much of the lunch we sat in abject silence as we couldn’t understand each other.  There were some very lengthy speeches…….in Spanish.  And one of my colleagues did give me a present of some rosary beads and a picture of the Pope so all was not lost.

On the way back, there was an accident on the highway so we had to take an hour’s detour along the old highway.  Just for clarity, this is the old highway.  Sadly, there was a two car collision with a horse.  I’ve yet to hear about the people involved but I already know it didn’t end well for the horse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.