Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Frosty and cold

There was the most beautiful sunrise this morning and I regretted not getting out somewhere to photograph it. It was another beautiful, sunny day, with lots of frost and so cold.

After breakfast I walked Xena and by the time I had finished my walk my hands were frozen, despite wearing gloves. I was very happy to get home for a hot cappuccino. The hoar frost is still clinging to the vegetation and there is also much ice around as can be seen here.

I popped out to get groceries for the weekend, not much as I am on my own this weekend as Gavin leaves very early tomorrow morning to go skiing with about 20 work colleagues. They chose to go to 'our village' as many have been there before and like the skiing there, and thankfully since we left earlier this month they have had snow nearly every day, so the snow is good again for skiing but it is very cold. Gavin says he is not looking forward to -15C on the top of the mountain! They are all staying in a hotel that gave them an excellent rate, quite unusual for Switzerland where everything is usually so expensive, especially with the GBP/SFr exchange rate.

Last night we very much enjoyed the musical Mandela at the Young Vic theatre. Written by two South Africans with a cast of some South Africans, but mostly non South Africans who had the most appalling SAfrican accents! I never realised it is a difficult accent to get right! There was also a smattering of Afrikaans words spoken and I could barely understand what they were saying as it was not said correctly. Luke and Meriel also enjoyed it very much, despite not knowing much about the history of the time, so it seems it would appeal to those who are not that familiar with the life of Mandela from his incarceration until he was released, 27 years and a changing time in the history of the country. Overall it was very good, the singing and dancing was incredible and at times we laughed and other times we cried.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.