SoupDragon

By SoupDragon

Swans and swallows

I had no expectation of any successful blipping this morning when I set out to walk Lily around the Mere in drizzle, so I left my camera at home. I had hardly made it through the gate when I spotted two mallards dancing along the roof of the boathouse. Once past them I realised that the whole reservoir was swarming with swallows, dipping and diving to catch what must be very elusive insects as it is VERY cold. I can't remember having seen any swallows at the Mere before. You can't get a recognisable blip of a fast moving swallow with an iPhone, I have to report. Then I came across the swan pair - most anxious to polish off my bread before the mallards and gulls got a look in. It turns out that Mr Swan has been off for a few days recuperating at the RSPCA due to losing a battle with a fisherman's hook. He looks fine now though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.