RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Radiators

Three evenings ago I got a message saying the plumbing has been done for the radiators and what style radiator would I like? In fact I neither need nor want radiators but I have to have them in order to get the Green Grant for the air source heat pump - but the plumbing has been done already? No-one has asked me where I want the radiators. 

It turned out that they had been plumbed for the 'usual places', i.e. under windows. That makes sense if there is cool air coming through windows but I will be having triple glazing. And I like to put a bench or table in front of windows to be able to see out so I do not want radiators there. 

I messaged: 'This is one example of the sort of decision I want to be involved in that most clients probably wouldn't and I think there will be a lot of those over the next few weeks. I will make myself as available as I can and it would be helpful for me to have your timeline so that I know what I need to be thinking about.' And I marked up on the plan where I want them. 

The ever-amenable builders said they would arrange for the plumber to change the pipework and asked me to come to the house today to mark on the walls where I want them. 

So I delivered the bottletraps I'd bought from Screwfix this morning at half the price of the ones I ordered from elsewhere before Christmas that were out of stock. 

You don't know what a bottletrap is? Keep it that way.


Edit 17 Jan - We've agreed today to change every radiator position I marked on this plan, three totally (though not to under windows) but that's fine. I just want to be involved in the decision-making and understand why things are happening as they are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.