Alarm System

Not... but AW hopes it will deter whoever thinks of entering through the back door.  Not that we never lock it.  They'd have to scale the very high fence first, though, or pick the locks on the gate.  As for rowing a boat to the waterfront, that would definitely catch the attention of any casual observer on the other side of the water.

A day of very intense work.  I caught up with all my marking obligations, and had an online meeting with Guilford Guy.  I also completed an Excel sheet summarizing all the results and sent it to him so that he could input the marks into the system.  Afterwards, some mails from students, including feedback for practice essays they sent so that they would be sure to pass the resits.  Worked steadily the whole afternoon, taking a break only for supermarket errands, dinner, and Death, and continued up to 23.40.   An occasional game broke the tedium, but I actually enjoyed the work and organizing and updating my files.

Something entirely different -- I've recently connected with a fellow amateur genealogist, whom I'll call Anaïs, who got a comment from me in one of the forums I visit, where she has posted information on her own research.  I haven't posted anything at all there myself as I use the forum only for research and not for sharing.  Hundreds of AW's blood relations up to the nth degree already have copies of my book, so I thought it unnecessary to post stuff online, but now I realize that other people who are also doing various pedigrees need this info.  Nonetheless, I have neither the time nor the inclination to share so many details (at least 25,000 names in my files!), and then there's the Privacy Act to consider as well.  I'm suddenly thinking of Sluggo, who gave me the creeps last summer.  Anyway, Anaïs found it a pity, and also a pity that I have but one copy left of my book (my own copy) but will just give me a shout if she needs anything.  She lives closer to Den Bosch but works in town (no idea where, I haven't asked) so we might get together one day (maybe on campus?) for a bite.

Fair weather predicted for tomorrow.  We'll see if it's good enough for the road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.