Mother Shipton

By MotherShipton

Green Hairstreak

I set off at lunchtime to see if the bluebells were any further on in the wood but they were not. I started to wonder where I would find todays blip.

On the way back from the wood on a sunny banking which I know is good for butterflies I stopped to watch my first orange tip of the year. A flash of green went by, surely not a green hairstreak,I have never seen them here before. A relaxing sit in the sun revealed several newly emerged green hairstreaks so I was very pleased. First because I managed to get this photo of it and second because this is a new record for a new site which is always exciting.

The Green hairstreak never sits with it's wings open but always closed with the wings tilted towards the sun for maximum warmth. This is very particular for this butterfly. The green is an iridescent emerald colour which catches the light well and makes it very beautiful to see. It is well camouflaged amongst birch trees because the white fleck on the wings matches the birch leaf edge and the brown wing edges are similar to birch buds.

Any tips on improving the shot welcome but all I could think of was a different angle in order to separate the butterfly from it's background and make it stand out a little more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.