memento

By memento

Dodging bunnies

Until they grow up and venture out into the neighborhood, I am the accidental guardian of five baby bunnies. I'm sure my porch with the latticed bottom, surrounding lush ornamental grasses and colorful shrubs was like a neon sign flashing 'perfect nesting location...vacancy' to a mother bunny. And that's fine.

They are adorable...scarcely the size of regular hamsters, big-eyed and still clumsy and they have decided that a shallow depression in the mulch underneath one of the small shrubs is the ideal spot to pile up and snooze. And that's fine, too.

Every time I go out to work on that planting bed, they are in a slightly different location and so incredibly well concealed that I would step on them before I saw them. That would not be so fine. Nor would it be fine if they started chewing on my plants (does the Curse of the Were-Rabbit mean anything to you?)

Current plan is to just let them grow up and leave home on their own and at the first sign of damage and too much digging, ask them politely to leave by sprinkling a deterrent.

Right now, I'll just enjoy their utter cuteness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.