Ennerdale.

This is Ennerdale again with the lake on my left.  I decided to walk on a path I hadn't walked on for years for a change.  All wrapped up against the cold I met a cycling colleague equally difficult to recognise!  We both had children who learnt skills with 'Lakeland Sprinters' before moving up to Velo Club Cumbria.  Both myself and colleague were both members, competing in weekly time-trials.
Anyway I decided on this photo as it shows you a typical scene at the 'weir end' of the lake, but here it has the added attraction of the sun catching the top of the trees and just on the hill, virtually diagonal to each other.
Last night at camera club we learnt about lighting and portraits, having a go ourselves and borrowing the club gear.  Depending on the effect you wanted there was a name for the lighting used-having the light straight in front of you is called Hollywood Lighting so called because actress preferred this lighting as it showed less wrinkles!   Lighting from the side is called 'Rembrandt Lighting.  No I wasn't a model, but my friend JG was and he entered into the spirit of the evening.  He then proceeded to take ad hoc photos of us and the one he took of me was not flattering!  A good and fun night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.