Curried Porridge

Other than today being Saturday how did this come about??
 
It’s a long story . . .   !!
 
 
Many years ago a doctor persuaded me to eat lots of sea fish for the iodine to counter my underactive thyroid. This I did with pleasure as I love fish, and as Mrs W likes fish but a lot less than me it became my breakfast.
 
A little less many years ago we discovered the joys of turmeric as an antiflam, and not wanting to spend a fortune on capsules I started adding turmeric powder and coarsely ground black pepper to my fish which spiced up my breakfast.  Grated cheese crept in somewhere as well.
 
Then another doctor put me on thyroxine tablets and I haven’t looked back.
 
Hence my fish breakfast died a death, but how about the turmeric.
 
This took many forms over the next few years including baked beans on toast.  Turmeric with scrambled eggs was not favoured . . .
 
A couple of days ago I had porridge for breakfast and decided to make it a regular thing (many many years ago it was).
 
Last night Mrs W suggested (smiling) that I should put turmeric in my porridge.  Ha ha . . .
 
Ok, ha ha on me  -    this morning I tried it!
 
 
It was delicious.  If you like spicy things  (curried rice and the like) it’s highly recommended (by the management that is).
 
 
 
Formular for the brave:
 
70gm / 80gm (or more if you like) of good quality jumbo porridge oats.
1 teaspoon of ground turmeric.
Copious amounts of coarsely ground black pepper.
A little sugar to taste.
A pinch of sea salt flakes (or whatever) to taste.
A small handful of raisins or currents (or whatever).
(Mix the ingredients dry is a good idea.)
Milk (or water for the purists) to well cover the concoction.
Cook in microwave (or saucepan) until oats are soft.
Don’t blame me.
 
 
(I know it’s not the first Saturday of the month, but I must dedicate this to Admirer, I’m sure she would have loved it.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.