It’s Saturday, so it’s parkrun day

Edinburgh parkrun was cancelled today (along with quite a few others) due to an icy course. The newly established parkrun at Winchburgh, Auldcathie District parkrun, went ahead with their event number three though, due to the sterling efforts of a volunteer to de-ice the paths last night and this morning. It only took us about five minutes longer to get there than getting to Portobello (which was also still on), and it was good to run a new venue. Around 300 people completed the course, supported by a great team of friendly volunteers. It has a few more ups and downs than Cramond, which is basically flat, and although crowded at the start so it was walking pace for a bit, I managed to get round in about four minutes less than I had at Cramond last week. Quite pleased with myself - think this ghastly cold/cough is at long last on the mend.

The weather started warming up a bit as the day progressed. I was delighted to see lots of birds in my garden in the afternoon - unfortunately  as soon as I got the camera out they all hid in the bushes or flew about too much for me, so no photographic evidence I’m afraid. I saw a magpie, blackbirds, sparrows, great tit and then to my great delight a magnificent bullfinch appeared. He really made my day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.