Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Countdown to an Anniversary

Four years ago our anniversary was a big one--an even number that ended with a zero. So we decided to have a celebration.

A long time ago I learned that celebrations are more than fun because they not only create a lasting memory, they also invoke memories. I also learned that planning a celebration is the beginning of enjoying the moment. So a year in advance we started talking quietly about turning our anniversary into a wedding.

At 15 & 19 when we got married, both sets of folks were angry and hurt and emotions were riding high for all of them. The two of us were fairly oblivious and we weren't included in much of the planning. As a 15 year old I knew nothing about weddings. Honestly, I'm not even sure I had ever been to one. So not "getting" to wear a white wedding dress probably wouldn't have bothered me if Mom hadn't rubbed my nose in that reality.

Today, I think most teens would hardly understand our story. We were in the mass of youth on the leading edge of promiscuity . . . the first wave of the "make love, not war" generation . . . marching to the tunes of The Beatles, the Beach Boys, Joan Baez, The Mommas & Papas, Bob Dylan and so many more. It was a world new to us and one our parents could not comprehend. Today most of my students have never heard of a "shot-gun" wedding.

So previous to our anniversary four years ago, we planned the wedding we had missed years ago. We really weren't worried whether anyone thought it was a good idea or not, and with Mr. Fun's nod of approval, I decided I was going to wear a white wedding dress.

Well, you've already reasoned that it's anniversary season at our house. We're savoring all the memories and enjoying the week immensely and we're not even to the 29th yet!

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.