neoreoscar

By neoreoscar

Spaghetti junction

I had a man in. Well, two actually...

New aerial
TV mounted on wall

I never know what to do when I've a man in. What's the etiquette?

My coping strategy:
1) offer cups of tea to workmen
2) nervously pace up and down while they work
3) move things from one place to another unnecessarily
4) remind workmen to drink their tea while it's hot
5) talk to the chickens
6) try to read a book despite having no
concentration whatsoever because therearestrangersinmyhouse
7) talk to the dog
8) offer a fresh cup of tea to the workmen
9) awkwardly wonder if workman 1 is talking to me or to workman 2
10) put book away and line up all the book spines along the front of the bookcase as it's something to do to distract me from the fact that therearestrangersinmyhousewhoIdontwanttotalkto
11) talk to the chickens again
12) tidy away the tea things
13) listen to the man explaining about the aerial, realise I'll forget what he's said and so decide to write it down
14) pay the nice workmen and usher them out of the door, thanking profusely
15) hoover up the mess
16) swear at the spaghetti mess of cables and try to hide them as best as I can
17) move things back to where they were

and 18) have a lie down in a dark room or have a G&T - (to be decided)

He asked me so many questions about the cables. I don't know what that one's for. Don't you?! Aren't you the TV mannie? Don't ask me hard questions. I can only make tea.

I don't like having a man men in.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.