NightOwl45

By NightOwl45

A Drizzly Sunday

A high pain day. I have done absolutely nothing but am feeling guilty about it. Should be putting laundry on, doing housework, being productive.

Today’s Blip is an old photo I have stored electronically of my maternal grandmother, Helen (Lena). She was born in 1910.

I never met her but a lot of people think I look like her. I see it a little bit around the eyes. This photo was taken before her 28th birthday I believe. She had a child out of wedlock at 30 - a “big sin” in a Catholic family in those days. 

That child was my Auntie Ellen (Helen) whom I adored. I always called her Annie. She died in August 2018 aged 78. I was so upset I couldn’t even go to her funeral.

She went on to marry (aged 33) and have three more children, two sons and my Mum, her youngest child. She was 40 when she had her.

The extra is of her at about 42/43 - my Mum is the little girl on her right, holding her hand.

I have been resting with my electric heat pad and looking through the bin bags of family photos I have. I might share some more old photos if people are interested. 

My younger (full) brother has been in touch and wants me to write out our family tree. I was surprised to say the least! He is 37 coming 38 and seems to have become interested in it all of a sudden - I think it’s because his girlfriend’s family are many and she is, like me, interested in family trees and history.

I hope you are all having a relaxing Sunday. Playing catch up with Blip today too :) xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.