If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Great Tit ( Parus major )

A lazy blip today, it is a while since I did a shot through the living room window.  No, I don't count yesterday's, that was through the cat door and required more effort.

As usual for a Sunday a comparatively late rise and a lazy morning.  During the lazy time, I spotted the birds at the feeders and following my habit I took some "just in case " shots.

Great tits are one of the few common birds that is doing reasonably well as opposed to declining.  There are currently around 50% more now than in 1968.  I suspect some of this could be due to garden feeders and domestic nestboxes.  To know the sex of a Great Tit you really have to be another Great Tit.  However, plumage gives some clues.  Going by the black stripe on the chest this is a female or a very low ranking male.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.