Ross Bridge

Today we drove the 200km or so from Launceston to Hobart with a stop at the beautiful historic town of Ross about half way. My blip concerns the Ross Bridge which crosses the Macquarie River. With convict labour, it was constructed by two convict stonemasons who were emancipated on completion of the bridge.

My main was taken from the road, looking down along the stone balustrade beside the steps which you might have to imagine. My extra shows the three arches of the bridge. On the central arch are the words Colonel George Arthur, Lieutenant Governor, who opened the bridge. Underneath is the year date 1863 in Roman numerals. 

The stonework holds incredible detail to do with struggle, good, evil and more which from my vantage point I couldn't see but you can see some in the extra. The best look is here:

https://www.ourtasmania.com.au/launceston/ross-bridge.html

Thanks for hosting Skeena. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.