Here we go again!

By MI

Passage Jouffroy

The highlight of today was seeing our friend M for lunch and then exploring the passage Jouffroy with him. There were some good deals to be had on late 19th century books at the Librairie du passage (pictured) and M picked some up. (I was tempted by a signed copy of a book by Jeanne Landre, but I'm afraid it was priced out of my range.) M explained that this passage and its continuation, the passage des panoramas, were popular queer cruising spots in the 1860s through 1890s. The passage Jouffroy was renovated in 2019 and is full of interesting things to see. I'm partial to the Hotel Chopin, a hotel as old as the passage itself (1845), located at the turn in the centre of it right next to where I took this photo. 

Warm thoughts for my colleagues in Guelph who will have a difficult and very sad day today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.