Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Year of the Water Rabbit

I and a friend attended the Lunar New Year celebration in Philadelphia's Chinatown. It's the year of the Water Rabbit, and we were guessing that the lettuce tied to the firecracker belts had to do with feeding the rabbit. 
The crowd was very cheerful, mostly families, and I happened to notice that no one I saw was there to drink alcohol, nor was anyone trying to sell any. 
National news was breaking in Los Angeles that an Asian-American elders' ballroom dance had been the scene of a mass murder, and some cities were cancelling their parade. Later it emerged that the attack was not about racism. 
I wandered with the flow of the crowd and was able, only a few times, to be straight in front of one of the ceremonial puppets, with bits of the bursting firecrackers knocking against me.
"Crowd control" was very courteous. Young members of the Suns held bamboo poles around the space needed by the dancing beasts and the explosions. No one was disagreeing, though once I took a video inside the limit without realizing my error. My friend saw the parade masters look me over and shrug me off. 
This day was well enjoyed!

EXTRAS: 1) An elderly local woman on her way to somewhere: She was alone and never asked anyone's help. She just kept pushing ahead and people opened a path for her. I and one stranger agreed that following Granny was a good way to get through the crowd a lot faster. 2) A roasted pig on its way to a terrific Malaysian restaurant where I've enjoyed many a meal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.