Junco Under the Feeder

Another day of rainy slush and snow, leading to yet another day of school cancelled. With all this extra time off you'd think I'd get caught up on a few things, but no. Just not wrapping my mind around what needs to get done. 

This was another day where you watch all the birds outside around the feeder and wonder how they manage to live through the cold wet nights. Lately we've had an unusually large flock of juncos around the house. Today I was watching them through the window when they all suddenly flew off, seconds before a hawk swooped in. It banked in a couple of tight circles around the feeder and hovered in the air for a moment before zooming off again. Obviously I've seen hawks flying before, but this thing came in like a hummingbird and gave me a new appreciation for their speed and agility. Glad it wasn't hunting me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.