Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Responsibilities

In many ways when I head off to India I leave behind my responsibilities, I pick up some other ones, but the day to day life ones are left behind. Colin reckons I just pass them to him. That is certainly the case with today's blip. These are the three miniature phalaenopsis orchids I bought the other day in Ikea. I rather like the way they look in this old trough.
Talking of India, all is now in place I've heard back from every part of my stay and journey so that's good news. Just over two weeks till I go. It has all come together really quickly thank goodness. I'm not looking forward to the flights, but that's less than one day after that it's all systems go.
I have been busy again today. I had my physio appointment at the hand clinic this morning at last, and I've come away with a raft of exercises to do while I'm away. I walked to and from the Western which is just over a mile each way.
Back home I made my third batch of marmalade, for blipper Blethers info:
an hour of prep,
two hours simmering,
20 mins or so boiling
Then bottling up.
We've got about 20 jars from the 3kg of Seville oranges. That should do us the year, with some to give away. I don't really eat much, but Colin loves jam and marmalade - which is just as well as I love making it.
For those who are making marmalade just now I've noticed that the 2kg bags of sugar in supermarkets don't yet seem to have caught up with the recent 1kg bag price jump. £1.35 for 2kg as opposed to 95p for 1kg.
I'm round at Ali and Stuart's this evening baby sitting while they go out for dinner. All is quiet!
We're on duty again tomorrow as the Edinburgh teachers are taking their turn to strike.then another day with Josie on Friday as Ali is going to a funeral.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.