Hannah Starkey at The Hepworth Gallery

A visit to Wakefield today with Mike, who I haven't seen for a long time.  Some of you will remember me writing about my printmaking friend Jan who died the year after Ann, on the same date.  Mike was her partner. We had a lovely easy chatty time and it was good to see him and hear about how he is doing.   A day for coffee, the exhibition and a late lunch at Rob Royd.   He needed to go to sort out his dogs and I needed half an hour sat in the chair with my eyes closed.

I enjoyed the exhibition and liked the little notes at the side of some of the images which provided a commentary.  Very much a social commentary of women's lives, but unusual for this kind of photograph Hannah negotiates the story with the participants, so in many ways most are still images from a kind of play script.  Well all except the demonstrations, which were shot as seen - a departure for Hannahs usual way of working.

Well worth a visit if you are in the area (as is the gallery itself).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.