The Best Boy

Of course I come to Edinburgh to see Luke but it’s lovely to spend time with Otter too, as a bonus ;-). Here he is modelling his new Empty Kitchens Full Hearts name badge and warning people against feeding him (tempting though that might be).

Luke started work at 10 but I wasn’t doing my shift until the afternoon. Since it was a beautiful sunny morning, I decided to walk to Empty Kitchens. Along the beach to Seafield, an unplanned detour into the crematorium and then a double back to find the Restalrig railway path to Leith Links. A short foray for coffee into a lovely wee cafe called The Hideout and then along the Water of Leith and straight on to Newhaven, Wardie Bay and finally Granton (where I found out yesterday that the first electric cars were made in the UK - in 1898!).

An enjoyable shift ladling industrial quantities of soup, curry and pasta and then it was time to say goodbye to the Best Boy (and Luke). I also had the pleasure of seeing Laura briefly before she leaves for her placement in Taiwan.

On the bus home now. Hoping that the man behind me speaking loudly into his phone hangs up soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.