A day of travel

This morning we  bussed to the city and back. The purpose was to go to the Ballantynes sale. Ballantynes is the oldest department store in Christchurch and the equivalent of something like Harrods in London. We made some purchases and returned home by bus. This afternoon, we went out in my car to pick up Lincoln and Elliott from their other grandparents. They are staying at our home tonight. Halfway there I had a call from Auto Restorations to say that our Morris 8 had a new Warrant of Fitness and was ready for pick up. We drove across town and then Anne drove the boys home while I drove the Morris 8 home. It needs a full clean and groom as it had been sitting in our storage garage since before the Covid lock down in 2020. So the Morris 8 went into our garage alongside Anne's car.
 My car is parked outside meaning that I had to move the Morris Minor. So I drove the Morris Minor across town to the storage garage and returned home on the bus. It all feels a bit tiring on a 30 degree day however I now look forward to working on the Morris 8 in the cool of our garage. It will feature on Blip once completed.
Now my photo. This lovely, fully restored little racing car was sitting beside a huge modern Bently. I thought that I had an excellent knowledge of world cars but I had never heard of these before. It turns out to be a mid 1920's Amilcar and hails from France. In its past, this little one was successfully raced here in New Zealand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.