Boomtown China

By KevinIMitton

Kobo Vox eReader

Do you find your eyesight's getting worse the more and more you use a computer? I certainly feel mine does maybe my age may in some way is connected.

I do a fair bit of reading for work, learning and pleasure. Solve the problem get and an iPad or an eReader? An eReader is less bright and can be quite easily read in daylight. Then, a Kindle, Sony, Nook or Kobo?

I had a knee-jerk reaction against the Kindle as it locks one into the online retail juggernaut which is Amazon and what if a few years down the line one switches to a different ereader? From what I can gather, correct me if my understanding is wrong, you cannot transfer your ebooks onto another device. Plus, there's no SD card slot on Kindles yet there is one on the Nook which is from another large retail chain.

That leaves the Sony and the Kobo and due to my recent horrendous experience with a Sony Experia smart phone it was pretty much a non-starter. Also the Sony doesn't have built in backlighting which is something you'd take for granted at a premium price point.

So, that leaves me with the Canadian Kobo working alongside independent bookstores which is a always good thing. I was going to plump for the KoboGlo but for almost the the same money at Swindon Books in Hong Kong was the Kobo Vox which is in colour; which is technically a tablet. Do I need colour? Not really I thought especially as it significantly reduces the length of time between re-charges. But seeing as I'm leaning Photoshop, InDesign and photography in general colour probably colour will be necessary. What's more, for children's books colour is a winner. The Kobo Vox even reads aloud highlighting each word as it goes a useful feature for young learners.

Downsides I've discovered so far is you can't delete any of the pre-installed apps, the screen is shiny like an iPad so a translucent cover will be needed and I felt it was a little heavy. I suppose that's the price you pay if you want colour.


Aha! Alan Partridge on the Vox's box "I, Partidge" made me chuckle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.