Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2952. Bougainvillea

Almost forgot to take any photos today so a quick shot of some of the bougainvillea plants on the patio of our villa will have to do.

As it’s Friday I thought a flower shot would be ok…almost an EB but not quite.

Weather has been a bit mixed today with a couple of very light showers and a lot cooler, 17 degrees.  Just had a walk this morning then a quiet afternoon.  Lunch was some leftovers from a couple of days ago that I’d put in the freezer so no cooking today.  I do prefer self catering when we go away as we get to eat exactly what we want.  I brought some Simply Cook kits with me this year and they have proved to be excellent and so tasty.  I don’t know how I managed it but every kit will be used by the time we go home plus a couple of “cook in the bag” kits we had at home.  We have eaten out a few times and plan to do the Sunday lunch here in the resort again as it was so good last week.

It’s the anniversary of my son in law’s death today, I can’t believe that it’s been 3 years since he died at only 48 years old.  I clearly recall the whole day, battling to book flights home and to get organised and away from the villa by 8:30am and two flights to get home.  Then the long journey to get to my step daughter’s home and all the trauma that followed.  We managed his funeral two weeks before the first complete lockdown so at least he got a proper send off, I know many families were denied this because of the pandemic so we were grateful for that at least.

One of my Mom and Dad’s dearest friends from their time in Malta where my Dad did his national service, Kitty, phoned me today.  She’s a grand old lady and such a kind thoughtful person.  She worked for my Mom in Malta as a teenager, helping around their apartment and looking after my sister. They were lifelong friends and I have stayed in touch with her all these years and we have visited Malta a few times to see her and her family.  I wrote her a letter just before we left Scotland and she obviously received it hence the phone call.  It’s always lovely to hear from her.

I am continuing with my knitting and hoping to get the bag finished before we go home, it’s going to be a bit touch and go but I’m hopeful that I will do it!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.