The removal of the wart

Look at this picture: butter wouldn't melt, right? Right.

Ottawacker Jr was picked up early from school for a routine medical appointment: the removal of his wart. What started out as a quick drive across town for a 5-minute appointment ended up as a panicked dash. Why, you might ask? Picture the scene.

Father and son driving along Alta Vista, preparing to head up to Smyth and on to the highway; music playing on the radio. Son begins to speak.

"Oh no."
"What?"
"I've forgotten something."
"You can get it tomorrow."
"..."
"What did you forget?"
"My laptop."
"What laptop?"
"My laptop from home."
"Your laptop from home?"
"Yes."
"Why was your laptop from home at school?"
"I had to take it in..."
"You are not allowed to take your laptop into school."
"I know. But I had to."
"Why... oh FFS."

The screech of tyres as I perform a U-turn drowns out his answer.

So we made it back to school, he ran in to get his laptop ran back with his laptop, climbed in the car and sat in silence for the next 20 minutes until we reached the doctor's office. Then he climbed out and I kicked his arse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.