RIP Reg, my old friend

Today was the day of the funeral for Reg Ball, who I first knew in Masirah, Oman, 55 years ago, YES - Fifty Five Years! It's quite amazing when you think about it. The Extra is Reg in Masirah, 1968. He's the one with the armband (RAF Police).
The night in the Innkeepers Lodge was great, very comfortable and I had a good sleep.
This morning we, the association members, lined the entrance, came to attention, and saluted Reg's coffin as it passed by.
His family very much appreciated us all being there, about 10 of us. I took a photo of those on the other side (another Extra) but no pictures of me I'm afraid so consider yourself very lucky!
From Stockport I stopped off at Congleton, to much admiring of my MX-5 by his wife (partner?) Viv. She has the newer model, MK4, but she really likes the shape of mine, the older Mk3. Had a chat about old times in Saudi and Senegal, where Bill looked after the Saudi Embassy comms and power equipment, while I was Project Manager for the worldwide communications of all Embassies and Consulates. It's a long explanation but we started off by meeting at Heathrow, January 1984, before we flew to San Fransico to begin 7 weeks of training with ROLM Corporation on their CBX telephone exchanges. We've kept in touch since then. Extra photo of us in a photographic studio dressed up as cowboy (Bill) and gambler (me). The costume was one piece with velcro down the back HAHAHAHAHAHAHA
Doesn't time fly when we are enjoying ourselves!!
So the whole journey was 280 miles round trip  and pretty uneventful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.