A bit of a mystery tour

Today we were driving to Inverness and had a bit of time in hand so I suggested we should take a little side trip.
I've been researching my sister in law's family tree. Her mother's family came from Speyside. Two addresses have featured regularly in birth, death, marriage and census records. Armed with Google maps and the online 1st edition 6 inch O.S. Map from the National Library of Scotland we set off to find them. 
One was now an empty field with only some stones visible. We found the other farm near this farm track. We took some quick photos from the car as we negotiated the narrow roads. This one was a perfect reflection of the day with a bit of blue sky and sunshine but still winter.
We found the farm where my sister in law's g g g g grandfather was farming in 1851. The census tells me he farmed 41 acres, 36 acres were pasture and he employed 3 labourers. It's now a private home so we didn't hang around taking photos. Looking in the opposite direction from my blip photo there was a stunning panoramic view of the snow covered Cairngorm Mountains. Altogether a successful mystery tour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.