To the museum

My brother and I went to  museum Arnhem, to see one of Rembrandt's masterpieces : de Vaandeldrager (the Banner bearer or the Standard bearer). The painting was purchased by the Dutch state at the end of January 2022. Since April it has been on tour. Every month in a museum in a different province of the Netherlands, so everyone has a chance to see the painting somewhere nearby. From 2023 it will be shown in the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam.

The painting was in a separate room, away from the rest of the museum. We were allowed in for half an hour, so we managed a good look. My photos up close didn't turn out so well so I decided on this photo. We were able to have a good look up close though.

We didn't care much for the rest of the museum with modern art. Had coffee with cake and a stroll through the museum garden. A nice outing. And I'm happy to have seen the painting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.