BRIANW

By BRIANW

Both Wired For Sound, St. James's, London

Last day of the work week so I decided at lunchtime to go the newly opened Centre For British Photography based in the swanky environs of Jermyn Street in St.James's, which is on the posh side of Piccadilly. It was free to enter but a suggested donation was three quid, which was a bargain considering there were three floors of exhibitions.
The new venue is run by the Hyman Collection which is one of the world's best collections of British photography and I must admit I was very impressed by the way the opening exhibitions were displayed.
One of the featured photographers was  Marketa Luskova who took some absolutely brilliant images of the British northern seaside from the mid 1970's until the early 1980's. Her book "By The Sea" is a wonderful evocation of that period.
On the way back to my studio I therefore felt I had to capture an image to make my own nod to what I had just seen. I spotted the woman with the fur coat first and then realised that the man just behind her was also wired for sound and that's when I pressed the shutter! The bikes that I used as a framing device (these were Lime E-Bikes) are the ones that you can hire via, of course, an app (what else!). The problem is once riders have finished using them they seem to leave them everywhere. In this case there were three on the pavement and one on the traffic island!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.