Flower Friday. : : Hellebore

We have one hellebore plant which surprises me every year when I realize that it is blooming. They are so shy and retiring for such lovely flowers. I crouched on the step and pointed my phone blindly upwards in an attempt to get it face, determinedly directed toward the ground. The extra demonstrates this better than I can describe it.

I have been thinking a lot lately about how life is really a series of puzzles to be solved, challenges to face and decisions to make. On a minor scale, there were a lot of them involved in painting the porch cabinet, ranging from getting it moved off the porch (again) to deciding color of paint, method of application, type of paint, etc. I finally decided on spray primer and black paint. It didn't seem at all windy, but there was enough of a breeze to blow half the spray primer away, or into my face, before it hit the cabinet. The can was finished before I was, so John went and got another spray can for me. I decided to use paint and a paintbrush for the final coat, so John went back to the paint store for semi-gloss black paint. He came back with a can of flat and a can of high gloss enamel. I didn't have the heart to send him back again, and it was getting too windy to continue so tomorrow will involve some more decisions....

Interesting conversation with Tobi over coffee this morning. I took her the newspaper with the picture of her sitting in the front row at the PG&E meeting. The PG&E fellow was giving the statistics we've all heard before, and the audience was trying to tell him that ten outages a month ranging from an hour to a day, most starting in the middle of the night, are NOT 'planned power outages'. I said it was divine justice that the power went out, proving their point but effectively ending the meeting.

Some neighbors are coming over to join us in a Friday evening happy hour so I'd better lay out the cheese and crackers....



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.