The A word.

I know I speak about autism a lot and for those that follow my journal can skip over this part if they want. Autism effects our family in a lot of ways. There are huge differences between the Jedi and Xander. Xander is what we would call high functioning,  and some people believe that high functioning kids have it easy , because they can have great communication,  can excel at maths like Xander , they can act a lot of the time like a " normal kid " . When people say to me that " it's ok he's clever, he doesn't look like he is autistic,  he just looks normal" it can get on my nerves a little.  Take my mum for instance.  She doesn't see Xander struggle on a daily basis and if she saw what he was like this morning she would say I would have to be stricter or not give in. Xander will absolutely wobble in social situations.  This morning his football was in a completely different place. Somewhere he's never been before,  and the minute his dad dropped us off he went so white and started to retreat into himself.  He didn't want to be there. He didn't know what to expect.  He started off by watching from the outside.  Then after a while I managed to coach him into behind the door of the pitch. And then he let me stand at the window and watch him kick a ball against a wall. He didn't join in, he didn't talk to anyone.  The coach said he could stay in the corner if he wanted. He was having a huge battle with his emotions.  A couple of the mums understood.  He took little steps to get to where he was today.  I worry that kids his age don't understand.  And I hope that I can bring awareness about it all. 


After I uploaded to blip last night the jedi started screaming that his ear hurt and he was quite upset.  He only finished his antibiotics on Tuesday so I was straight on the phone for more antibiotics as obviously the last lot didn't clear it up. So I asked for stronger ones and to have a prescription sent to boots so I could get him started this morning and they would kick in for him starting nursery next week. 

It was a early start for him amd me this morning.  He woke at 4am unsettled with his ear so that was the two of us up. I'm so thankful he didn't wake anyone else up. The boys didn't wake until 6 and Harp was half 7. It's been a long day for me that's sure. Plenty of coffee has kept me going.  The jedi managed a nap so that was good. I'll just bath two of them after dinner. And leave the other two until tomorrow night. 

We saw nana and grandad today. I helped nana with her new phone set up and then set up her old phone for grandad.  He still really can't see so wouldn't be able to use it at the moment.  

We bought the jedi two new juice cups today. Exactly the same but I'm hoping he will use one at nursery and actually start drinking something.  The other will be a spare one for the house. 

Fingers crossed we get more sleep tonight and the antibiotics start kicking in straight away. If he's ill next week then Mr R will probably have to work from home a bit. I'm looking forward to my new job. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.