CROWS NEST

A quiet day for me today.  The weather has been so grey and boring really after two days of seeing some blue skies.  Ah well it is January after all.


Pleae forgive the poor quality of the photo but it was taken from the far end of my lounge looking throug double glazed windows - I did get up to try and get a better shot but the crow moved off that tree as soon as I did that and the feeders have been very quiet today.


Hubby had to go to Barrow today for a scan for his AAA, no change there at the moment, anyway.  He made the most of it by going to various places and bring back some wood, which is why I couldn't go with him as he needd the car seats down to fit the wood in.

I just did some houseworky stuffy and some photography.

To try and get some photo mojo back I have decided to embark on a Big Project for 2023.  This is to do with the EDPS Camera Club I belong (Emma Davies Photo School) where I learnt most of what I knew way back in 2018.  Well every month there are lessons and projects to do.  January is always to challenge you to a "big project". It doesn't have to be that big just something for you to concentrate on through the year.

I have set myself two projects.
1.  To actually get the books out again and do some photo studying at least two days a month.  Which simply means reading the emailsl that I get and taking part in the projects.
2  The Big Project - with many thanks to my lovely friend CumbriaLass and to Grace55 for the inspiration - I am going to photograph churches and pubs once a week.  There will be weeks that I cant obvously do them but I should be able to do most months.

This will give me an aim when I go out and about and a project to bear in mind.  The challenge will be to make them different and interesting.  I chose churches and pubs because they are heart of communities within the UK. Church I love photographing anyway, even though I'm not particularly religious.  They always have such great social history, general history and some with great stories.  It's also the architecture with me - churches can have the most amazing architecture.  Pubs can be anything  from new to old - I will try to choose ones that have some sort of a story to tell. 

I started off with St Oswalds in Grasmere the other day.  Now that is not a particularly pretty church on the outside but does have great history and is, of course, the final resting place of William Wordsworth.  I've put a collage o f said church in extras.

My aim will be to make this into a photobook at the end of the year.

That's all from me for today.  Do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.