Poor thing...

This poor little Collared Dove has been hunkered down in the flower bed in the bitter cold all day. At first I thought it might be looking for its lost mate (E from next door kindly removed a decapitated dove from the garden last Saturday), but when I approached the bird it made no attempt to fly away. I asked R from next door the other way if he could help me rescue it, by which time the bird had, with considerable effort, flown up into the bird feeder tree. By the time R arrived there was no trace of this bird, but we discovered a second dead Collared Dove behind the greenhouse, this one was intact. At the time, we thought this was probably the sick bird I’d been watching in the garden, but as it grew dark I noticed that it had returned to sit in the bird feeder tree, all hunched and fluffed up. Will it survive the night...

Been battling with internet all day. Fault reported (again), still no progress. Car battery so low my charger won’t recharge it, hoping E’s super duper charger may resurrect it. What next...

Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.