zippyhippy

By zippyhippy

Blue 2

What a marvellous start to the day today. Met up with my two friends for a 10k run at a quarter to six and the sun was shining. I cannot remember the last time that I was exercising outside and was not drenched by the time I got back home. Although I did get a bit wet as my platypus has sprung a leak. Hopefully will be able to fix it but if not it is going straight back to where I got it. As it was such a beautiful morning, I decided to leave Miranda at home and take the long way to the coalface. I really should think of a name for this bike but it is really difficult because unlike Miranda who does seem, to me anyhow, to have a personality all of her own, this bike is more of a functional machine. I do love riding this bike though, especially because of its simplicity - 8 speed hub to make it go faster, hydraulic disc brakes to slow it down.

This morning I was thinking how lucky I am to be surrounded by so many inspirational people with whom I get to spend time with as the day breaks. Firstly I have the #teamEMC participants and instructors at the gym for classes . They really are an amazing bunch and we all work so well together as a team. There aren't any cliques and we all genuinely want to help each other and see each other succeed in our personal goals. A great bunch of people making the same journey as I am, perhaps for different reasons but we are sharing the same path and heading in the same direction. I have been to classes at other times of the day where this most definitely isn't the case and you feel like you don't belong there. Secondly I have my outside exercise buddies (with whom I also attend classes). The best thing is that there is now starting to be a crossover, my cycling buddy is coming out running and my running buddy is coming out cycling. I see these guys almost every day of the week and they really are my brothers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.