Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Purse Strings

“I forgot my purse

And I did curse

In the queue in Aldi

And I turned around

To the guy behind who looked like Lewis Capaldi

Excuse me Sir (I am sure you are kind)

But would you mind

Lending me a twenty spot

I know it’s a lot

But I am just a random woman

Who changed handbags yesterday

And transferred

A comb
Lipstick
Mini hand sanitizer
Pen
Notebook
Tissues
Spare mask
Make up mirror
Sunglasses
drivers licence
Covid card
Costa Coffee card
Keys
And various other sundries (TNTM)

But sadly forgot my shiny, sparkly purse

‘Now see here’ he did say

But you can’t expect me to pay

For your silly mistake.

OK sez I

I guess you are right

As I turned to go

Full of woe

I remembered the few bobs

Thrown in the glove compartment

ALWAYS HAVE EMERGENCY MONEY WHEREVER YOU GO

-*******


This is a fun, nonsense poem which I have written for next poetry circle. It clearly needs some work.



Have a look at Bill Strode’s. It’s a good one

A PURSE STRING

We hugg, imprison, hang, and save,
This foe, this friend, our Lord, our slave.

While thus I hang, you threatned see
The fate of him that stealeth mee.

(C) William Strode


and then sing along

https://youtu.be/ETxmCCsMoD0


and remember always have a few bobs emergency fund in the glove compartment (and btw there is nothing that rhymes with glove compartment)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.