Mark Fischer

Our justice community in Portland is stunned to learn of the death of Mark Fischer this morning. His wife Tracy was kind enough to send me a text message, informing me, and then I informed many others who have loved and admired Mark. He was diagnosed with adrenal cancer exactly a month ago today, after having considerable pain in his back for the past year and a half. He was 62 years old, and his wife and two adult children are trying to cope with this sudden loss.

I have taken the liberty of posting this photograph made in October, 2018, when the Portland Buddhist Peace Fellowship was circumambulating the Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) Building once a month. I'm grateful that Blip now allows us to post out of date occasionally, because I love remembering him full of optimism and lit by the sun. Mark was often the leader of our meditative walks, and in the Extra, made in August, 2021, he led a walking meditation that circled Portland City Hall and wore a sign that exemplified who he was: a Buddhist for justice. He was a supporter of Jo Ann Hardesty and worked many hours as a volunteer on her campaign. When I hear the term, "good human being," I think immediately of Mark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.