Oasis Garden Before the Rain

I had a presentation to give at a meeting on campus Wednesday morning. Despite some rain showers moving through, it was sunny out when I left my office but there were darker clouds on the horizon.

And so I parked my car near the Arboretum and seized a brief opportunity to visit the oasis garden (aka lily pond) both before and after my meeting. This is one of the photos from before, while there was still mixed sun. You can see a reflection of the clouds that were moving in.

When I came out of my meeting, it was pouring down rain, so my photo opportunities were a bit limited, although I did snap a few shots from under my umbrella.

I love the rain. I love the way it smells. I love the patterns that it makes on the water. I love the way the rain cleans things; makes things shine. And I'm not made of sugar, so I won't melt if I get a little bit wet. No, I really don't mind the rain.

Only love
Can make it rain
The way the beach is kissed by the sea.
Only love
Can make it rain . . .
Love, reign o'er me.
Love, reign o'er me, rain on me.
- The Who


The song: Love Reign O'er Me, by the Who. This song was written by Pete Townshend, and it was the second single released from Quadrophenia in October 1973. In this version: you're in for a treat, as the Who are joined by Pink Floyd guitarist and vocalist David Gilmour. And here's a bonus track: the same song, covered by Pearl Jam. Enjoy!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.