Memory Lane

It's not called 'Memory Lane' of course, it's Innsworth Lane. This NATO base used to be Royal Air Force Innsworth but the RAF Administration moved to High Wycombe and the NATO forces moved in and the camp was renamed Imjin Barracks. Imjin was very appropriate for a base in  Gloucester. 
https://youtu.be/_u3ZOwlbMes
The first time I was here was in 1971 when I was returning to the UK from Singapore and posted to RAF Boddington. Never heard of the place, had no idea where it was, but on the paperwork it was described as a detachment of CC (Commcen Central) Stanbridge, which is near Leighton Buzzard. So I drove from South Shields to Stanbridge, Bedfordshire, to be told that where I needed to be is Gloucester, and RAF Innsworth!
Luckily, I was quite early for reporting so I looked at my map, no SatNav or smart phones then of course, and set off heading West for Gloucester.
RAF Boddington is about 2 miles away from Innsworth, which was the 'Domestic' site, accommodation, mess hall etc. but also did all of the records and administration for the RAF. For Boddington all you can see is a concrete block hidden behind a wood. At that time it was a secretive communications centre using the current computer technology of the day, which was very primitive compared to now of course. The EXTRA shows me, yes it's ME! doing my job of 'Traffic Controller' on the original ATS102 Message Switching system. That, of course, is long gone now.
The other EXTRA shows the current entrance to the site, a bit more substantial than in my day. 
N.B. this system was installed in the mid 1950's and parts were wearing out. Note the elastic band holding one of the switches in the 'up' position because the spring had gone so it would flop back down again!
It is still there but now controlled by government communications and GCHQ is just a couple of miles in the direction of Cheltenham.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.