Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

1984

Today on the free book cart at my library I found a copy of Nineteen Eighty Four by George Orwell published in 1949. It had once been a library book at the library I use and I wondered if it has been there since 1949.

I read this book way back in high school when I was probably about 16- 54 years ago. When it really meant nothing. A fictional world beyond what my young mind cared about.

I am almost afraid to read it now as it is has maybe become truth and reality. The vocabulary index is shockingly close to what is happening with our voices if the news media tells truth. (We know they don’t!)

Words are important! Make sure words honor what is. I will always be mom, mother, wife, her,she, female. Sorry got off track her.

Happily, I am waiting for the transporter from Star Trek to beam me up to someplace! Or the time machine DeLorean from Back to the Future to be available for visits with family! Fiction has a way of becoming fact! Astronauts have go to the moon and submarines under the ocean. Jules Verne would be so happy!


I have always been amazed at the brains and imagination of writers of science fiction, fantasy and the mind like Stephen King. Not the gory crazy stuff but the truly weird that might be really real. Hoping none of his books become truth!

I don’t know what I would do without books.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.