Osprey

I'm being bold here - I think it is an osprey, but I'm willing and open for corrections or confirmations.
Balbuzard pêcheur in French ( Pandion haliaetus ).

See it BIGGER HERE.

I went to my usual haunt, the first time for a few days as I've been going elsewhere for my blips.
I had to park my car in a different place and walk down a lane as a farmer was digging the road up to get some irrigation hoses under the road to the river.

I spotted a kite hunting, then cast my gaze to the side and saw this - I darted into teh field and edged along a hedge to get as close as I could - it was so exciting (if it is an osprey) to see this fabulous bird.

I was pretty sure it wasn't a buzzard, as the kites didn't try to beat it up ...

I later saw lots of green woodpeckers and two kingfishers - I must give up waiting for them to perch and catch them in flight.

It's funny, I don't know if you get the same feeling, but I just know when I am going to snap something unusual and spectacular, and I felt this feeling tonight as I parked up.

So, if this is an osprey, there are loads of fish for it to feed on - I hope it stays around.
In other news, the apocalyptic weather conditions forecasted by the weather people didn't arrive, it has been a day of cloud and quite warm sunshine - we did have a bit of a downpour when I was in my office, then it turned out nice again as George Formby might have said.

Hope you've had a great day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.