Eye of the Storm

I took Shelly for his annual checkup at the retinologist’s. They took all sorts of photos and scans of his left eye. I asked if I could take some photos. Shelly was okay with it and Dr. Subong was enthusiastic about the idea. So these two photos are of the retina in Shelly’s left eye. He has retinitis pigmentosis, also known as RP. He can only see with the center of his eye. His other eye also lost the center due to macular degeneration so he is blind in that eye. He’s been losing his peripheral vision since the 70s. The good news is that his vision has not changed in over five years. It is likely that his condition is now stable. So he does have vision. And he gets around amazingly well. I help him when he asks. I am “finder girl” and “chauffeur” and many other things I will not name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.