Weather passing through

A day of Sunny spells and showers - sometimes so difficult to capture weather systems. I went down to The edge of the lake late afternoon to see if the sunset was good (and it was), but my favourite image was this shot looking back towards Skiddaw, with the amazing clouds above. I particularly liked the contrast between the relatively clear sky to the left, and the cloudy, threatening sky to the right. Shot at 15mm, I did briefly try my polarising filter, but they are notoriously bad with ultra-wides as they only work on part of the sky. So a simple 0.6 reverse grad filter (the brightest part of the sky was at the horizon) worked a treat. I was slightly shocked when I turned round from taking this shot to see that there was the remains of the head of a Pike on the shore - extra shows it by my camera bag - the teeth looked pretty scary, but I swim in that lake! - hopefully they don't nibble people!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.