RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Compromises

When I first had this pie-in-the-sky-idea to retroPHit a house to high eco standards, I planned to use low-carbon and non-toxic materials as much as I possibly could and avoid anything that might damage ecosystems at some time in the future when the house is at the end of its life (long after then end of mine, I hope). Gradually I have watched my intentions fail, one by one. Green insulation was too expensive; plumbing is done with plastic pipes and components; there is chipboard everywhere; even proper timber, like this, is treated with something or other to protect it from damp and pests. I have failed to find out what this is and have almost lost the will to uncover all the suspect materials I am using. It's sad, but I feel I have no choice and there's no point beating myself up about it.

And if that's how I feel, what is going on all through the rest of the building trade?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.