horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

inspire Your Heart With Art

Today is 'Inspire Your Heart With Art Day', which is a celebration I wasn't going to miss.
 
I've a wide interest, from Anish Kapoor to Hieronymous Bosch, from the street art of Glasgow to the photographs of August Sander (yes, photos can be art). But my absolute favourite is Edgar Degas.
 
I think it's his ability to create art that seems captures what feels like a candid moment, the subjects entirely unaware of being recorded. His works on ballet are behind-the-scenes exposes; while there's one of his horse racing paintings in particular, with the starting gate slicing the image in two, that brings an entirely informal, exactly-how-you'd-see-it element.
 
It's only in the last 24 hours, thinking of Degas anew, that I realise how inadvertently my own drawing style has crept towards that rough, inexact edge. Maybe subconsciously I've started reflecting my favourite style. It also proves there's nothing new on this earth.
 
With that in mind, this is a quick lunchtime sketch, updating his ballet dancer subject to modern street dance. I'm not conceited enough to compare myself to one of the masters, but happy to offer a homage.
 
So what's your favourite piece of art, or artist?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.