and through the wire...

By hesscat

Season (Waiting On You)

When Arlo lies like this waiting for me to throw something for him to chase, I try to see how long he would wait, without moving... and the answer is "longer than I am prepared to wait".

We were away out up the toon toon to the Royal Observatory for a talk on Nasa's Dart mission last September to hit the Dimorphos asteroid 7 milliooooon miles away. It was very interesting covering how they did it, what actually happened and what they are still doing. I hadn't realised but there was a partner spacecraft travelling a parallel path, but slightly behind, taking photos of the impact as it happened. They are still working out exactly what did happen and in a few years there will be another mission to send a spacecraft to examine the asteroid impact site. I love space missions me, I just wish they did it all faster. 

Edinburgh Uni were part of the project and sent people to a remote part of Kenya where it was closest to the asteroid, 7 millliiiioooon miles away, and monitor the asteroid impact on a telescope they took there. I was pleased to hear they left the telescope for the Kenyan astronomy students to use, that's just fab.

After all that thinking.. on a school night... we headed into the city centre for dinner and a beer, yum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.